Officers chosen

by Jack Vaitayanonta | 5/9/94 5:00am

The Afro-American Society announced its new officers Friday after a two-day election.

James Hunter '95 will head the AAm, along with Lewis Berry '97 as vice-president and Evelyn Waters '95 as secretary, beginning Fall term.

As president, Hunter said he hopes to foster better relationships with the administration, the faculty and other student organizations on campus.

Hunter, a history and film studies major, will also be an administrative intern to Dean of the College Lee Pelton and the Gold Coast Area Coordinator next year.

Waters, a Spanish major with a minor in education, said she looks forward to working with Hunter and making the organization sucessful.

Others elected for next year include Leslie Johnson '95 as financial secretary; Tiffany West '97 as concerned black students committee chair; Toshalyn Watson '95 as cultural education committee chair; and Candace Howell '95 as social chair.

Julian O'Conner '96 will serve as president Summer term.

The AAm, the College's black students association, held its elections last Wednesday and Thursday. The actual number of votes each candidate garnered was not released.

Advertise your student group in The Dartmouth for free!