Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Support independent student journalism. Support independent student journalism. Support independent student journalism.
The Dartmouth
June 17, 2024 | Latest Issue
The Dartmouth

Class Day speakers announced

The Senior Executive Committee announced yesterday the names of the student and faculty speakers who will represent the Class of 1997 at the Class Day ceremony and Commencement exercises.

The committee members have selected the class orator, class historians, the faculty speaker and the class marshals for this year's ceremonies from the nominations solicited from the senior class several weeks ago, committee President Sam Keating '97 said.

"Everyone was chosen to recognize the different contributions they have made" to the senior class, Keating said.

Seniors and their families, administrators, faculty and interested members of the Dartmouth community will gather in the Bema for the Class Day ceremony on the morning of June 7.

Anne Jones '97, who has been chosen as class orator, will give a "classical or literary-type speech" at the ceremony "reflecting upon how the seniors have changed and grown" during their four years at the College, Keating said.

Chosen for their sense of humor, the four historians -- Chris Miller '97, Jen Pariseau '97, Sariya Sharp '97, and Caleb Scott '97 -- will give a collaborative account recapping their college years in a comical skit, Keating said.

The committee has selected Government Professor Linda Fowler to be this year's faculty speaker.

"The faculty member who is selected as the speaker is usually someone who has had a close relationship with the students in the graduating class during their four years here," Keating said.

The senior class president as well as Keating will give a speech during the ceremonies, and awards will be presented to the senior class, Keating said.

During the 227th Commencement exercises held the following day on June 8, Yun Chung '97, Theresa Ellis '97, Meredith Epstein '97, Jon Heavey '97, Jewel Jones '97, Keating, Sea Lonergan '97, and Michael B. Wilson '97 will serve as the class marshals.

The marshals will lead the graduating seniors onto the Green as they walk down the processional at Commencement.

Keating, because he acts as president of the committee, will automatically serve as head marshal.

Keating said these students have been selected for making an "exceptionally positive impact on the community during their time at Dartmouth."