Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Support independent student journalism. Support independent student journalism. Support independent student journalism.
The Dartmouth
February 26, 2024 | Latest Issue
The Dartmouth

Gillibrand, King win Senate seats, MacGovern defeated

Two Dartmouth alumni Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand '88, D-N.Y., and former Maine Gov. Angus King '66 vying for Senate seats beat their opponents on Tuesday night, but Republican John MacGovern '88 was not successful in his bid to defeat Vermont's incumbent junior senator.

Gillibrand won a full term as New York's junior senator, defeating Republican challenger Wendy Long '82. Gillibrand, formerly a member of the House of Representatives, was tapped for New York's junior Senate seat in January 2009 when Secretary of State Hillary Clinton stepped down to assume her current position.

King, an independent, has been elected to Maine's open Senate seat, defeating Republican Secretary of State Charlie Summers, according to The Washington Post. The Senate seat was vacated by Sen. Olympia Snowe, R-Maine, who announced her resignation in a March 1 open letter published in The Post.

Incumbent Sen. Bernie Sanders, I-Vt., defeated Republican challenger MacGovern to retain the Vermont junior Senate seat.