Tri-Delt wins leadership award

by Melissa Edelman | 11/18/97 6:00am

Delta Delta Delta sorority was awarded the O'Connor Cup Award for outstanding leadership in the Greek system at the 12th annual Coed Fraternity Sorority Awards ceremony, held last night at Jesse's Restaurant in Hanover.

The awards serve as a way for the Office of Residential Life to thank and honor CFS houses for community service performance, academic achievement and social leadership and support, according to Assistant Dean of Residential Life Deb Reinders.

CFS Council President Chris Atwood '98 and Order of Omega officers helped distribute the many awards.

Tri-Delt won the O'Connor Cup Award for leadership within the CFS community, its number of scholarships, and programming results.

Hanover Police Captain Chris O'Connor presented the award, named in his father's memory. O'Connor's father served in the Navy before becoming College Proctor from 1964 to 1975. In a touching speech, Captain O'Connor recounted his father saying that the "Navy was his life but Dartmouth was his home."

The Order of Omega Lambda Rho Leadership Award naming the Greek Man and Woman of the Year went to CFSC Vice President Henry Rosevear '98 and Tri-Delt President Jess Ellsworth '98, respectively.

Mariam Malik '98, Ann Marie Nee '98, Atwood and Lincoln Willis '98 were all Order of Omega Lambda Rho Leadership runner-ups.

Numerous Minimum Standards Excellence Awards were also given. Tri-Delt, Delta Gamma sorority, Epsilon Kappa Theta sorority, Kappa Kappa Gamma sorority, Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity and Sigma Delta sorority passed with distinction. Kappa Delta Epsilon sorority, Sigma Nu fraternity and Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity passed with commendation.

Alpha Chi Alpha fraternity received the first-place award for academic achievement for the highest percentage of scholars in Phi Beta Kappa, among houses with more than 60 members. Theta won second place, followed by Kappa.

Zeta Psi fraternity received the first place award for academic achievement among houses with under 60 members.

DG -- which affiliated with the national Zeta Beta Chi sorority this past summer -- won second place, and Phi Tau coed fraternity won third place in this category.

The Dartmouth Recycles Office awarded Gamma Delta Chi fraternity for overall excellence in recycling and Phi Tau for the most improvement in recycling.

To recognize excellence in programming in terms of the development of their membership and contributions to Dartmouth and the larger community, overall excellence awards in programming were presented to Sigma Delt and Sig Ep. Alpha Delta fraternity, Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity, Tri-Delt, Theta, Kappa and SAE were recognized for excelling in programming.

The 15 Webster Avenue Award, which recognizes an organization for community service activities and awards a yearly $2,000 grant, went to Sig Ep.

The Physical Plant Management Awards went to Gamma Delt and Sig Ep.

The Order of Omega Most Improved Organization Award went to AD and Alpha Xi Delta sorority.