Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Support independent student journalism. Support independent student journalism. Support independent student journalism.
The Dartmouth
May 22, 2024 | Latest Issue
The Dartmouth

Luke Cuomo '20 elected Student Assembly president


Luke Cuomo and Ariela Kovary will be the next Student Assembly president and vice president.

By a margin of just 34 votes out of over 1,700 cast, Dartmouth’s student body elected Luke Cuomo ’20 to become the College’s next Student Assembly president, according to a press release from the Elections Planning and Advisory Committee. The Student Assembly vice president will be Ariela Kovary ’20, who ran on a ticket with Cuomo.

Cuomo received a total of 796 votes. His opponents Tim Holman ’20 and Sydney Johnson ’20 received 762 and 232 votes, respectively. Kovary received 1,520 votes.

The presidential race margin is the closest since 2012, when Suril Kantaria ’13 defeated Erin Klein ’13 by 11 votes. 

“I’m grateful for the student body for putting their trust in us to serve their interests and work towards a better Dartmouth for all,” Cuomo said.   

Cuomo and Kovary ran on a platform that included creating a unified policy on sexual misconduct, more student representation on the Board of Trustees and increased values for Dartmouth Dining Service meal swipes.

Cuomo’s student government experience includes serving as the past chair of the SA finance committee, as a member of the Elections Planning and Advising Committee and as a SA senator from North Park House. He has also participated in Dartmouth College Democrats and Model United Nations. Kovary has been as a designer for the Aegis yearbook, worked as an undergraduate advisor and was a member of the Allen House executive board. 

“I’m super grateful that the student body has recognized that Luke and myself will serve as great leaders and deliver the Dartmouth they deserve,” Kovary said. 

Cuomo and Kovary will succeed current president Monik Walters ’19 and vice president Nicole Knape ’19. 

In the race for senior class president and vice president, the ticket of Anjali Chikkula ’20 and Colby Conner ’20 defeated Lily Clark ’20 and Lizzie Clark ’20. Chikkula received 310 votes, while Conner received 314 votes. Lily Clark received 271 votes and Lizzie Clark received 268 votes.

Nate Stockmal ’21 was elected as one of the three 2021 Class Council executives. According to the EPAC press release, due to run-offs and write-ins, the other two executives will be announced by Friday at 12 p.m.

Blake McGill ’22, Dominique Mobley ’22 and Alexis Klimaszewski ’22 were elected as the three 2022 Class Council executives.

McGill is a member of The Dartmouth Staff.

Another article with more information will be published in the near future.