Briefly Noted

| 11/22/09 11:00pm

The 2009 Dartmouth football team awards were given out on Sunday at the team's season-end banquet, reported. Fifteen players were honored at the banquet. Pete Piderman '10 was given the Bob Blackman Trophy for the team's most valuable player. Shawn Abuhoff '12 received the Kenneth T. Young Award for the underclassman who made the most significant contribution to the team. Nick Schwieger '12 was awarded the Jake Crouthamel Award as the best offensive underclassman. Garrett Wymore '13 won the Earl Hamilton Award for the team's top rookie. Max Heiges '10 won the Manners Makyth Man Award for the player who showed the most sportsmanship.

Princeton head football coach Roger Hughes was fired on Sunday, Princeton Athletic Communications reported. Hughes was fired after he led the team to a disappointing 4-6 record this year, but not before the Tigers defeated Dartmouth 23-11 on Sunday. During his 10 seasons at Princeton, Hughes amassed a record of 47-52. He had three winning seasons with the Tigers, including a 9-1 record and Ivy League title in 2006. "Roger Hughes has been a fine ambassador of the football program during his tenure as head coach," Princeton Director of Athletics Gary Walters said in a release. "Ultimately, given its commitment to achieving excellence across the board, the University has determined that a fresh start in the football program is needed." A national search for a new successor will be held immediately, Princeton Athletic Communications reported. Hughes was previously the offensive coordinator at Dartmouth from 1990 to 1999.

West Liberty State College outscored Edinboro University 84-63on Saturday in the second round of the NCAA Division II football playoffs in West Liberty, W. Va., the Associated Press reported. Zach Amedro threw for 540 yards and six touchdowns for West Liberty and Kevon Calhoun ran for 173 yards and four touchdowns. Quarterback Trevor Harris was a one-man wrecking crew for Edinboro, as he threw for a playoff record 630 yards and five touchdowns, and ran for two touchdowns. The teams combined for 1,394 yards of total offense, breaking the previous D-II record of 1,369, the AP reported. No. 1 seeded West Liberty scored off the opening kick-off and led 56-21 at the half. The score was 70-28 in the third quarter before Edinboro scored four touchdowns to bring the teams closer. Both Amedro and Harris are finalists for the Harlon Hill Award, given to the best player in D-II football, the AP reported.