opinion


OPINION

Li: I Am a Woman

July 21, 2017 2:57am

While studying abroad in Barcelona last term, I had a dinner conversation with my host mom, Lídia, about feminism.

OPINION

Brown: God Bless Incompetence

July 21, 2017 2:56am

Six months into the Trump administration and The Donald has little to show for himself. Signature campaign promises such as the Definitely-Not-Muslim Travel Ban and “The Wall” have been bogged down in courts or have yet to even begin materializing respectively.

Fishbein: Something About Russia

July 14, 2017 1:02pm

Our country has begun to fall apart. I do not quite know what is happening, but it has something to do with Russia, with hacking and with “treason.” That is something I should know about, something a little more significant than Greek life, national sports or upcoming pong tournaments.

Chin: Dartmouth and the Alternative

July 14, 2017 1:02pm

Our school slogan is “Vox clamantis in deserto,” or “a voice crying out in the wilderness.” It is at the essence of being alternative or “alt.” Alternative is the new hipster, an artistic and social aesthetic that runs parallel to and “against” the mainstream. In short, this aesthetic is defined by solitary, brute intellectualism. 

Solomon: Summer Sluggishness

July 7, 2017 1:10pm

Summer has been strange so far. It has been hard to reconcile the beautiful, sunny, languid days with the looming realization that real work needs to get done.

Fishbein: Finding Your Zen

June 30, 2017 2:33am

I walk into the meditation room in the basement of the Tucker Center. The monk in charge greets me and invites me to join his prayer circle.

Cheng: Musing on Memes

June 30, 2017 3:01pm

As an incoming freshman, I don’t know a lot about Dartmouth. I’ve browsed Dartmouth’s official website, scoured admissions brochures and even went the extra mile to meet with some alumni in my area.

Wilen: Beyond the Numbers

June 24, 2017 10:03am

As both an alum and the parent of an incoming ’21, I feel I have an informed perspective on the yield improvement.