Search Results


Use the fields below to perform an advanced search of The Dartmouth 's archives. This will return articles, images, and multimedia relevant to your query.




298 items found for your search. If no results were found please broaden your search.




‘Arrival’ delivers fresh, emotional take on classic sci-fi topic

(01/05/17 5:00am)

Who would have thought that the most impressive science fiction film of 2016 would not be “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” but instead Denis Villeneuve’s thought-provoking, psychological and deeply moving “Arrival.” Villeneuve has already proven himself to be an extremely talented director with films like “Incendies” and “Sicario.” Despite this, I was skeptical when early reviews called “Arrival” a new sci-fi masterpiece. Good films have a tendency to buckle under the weight of tremendous hype, and I was nervous that Villeneuve simply wouldn’t be able to live up to the mammoth expectations being set by the film’s early admirers. Yet somehow “Arrival” surprised me, finding a way not to meet my expectations but instead surpass them and engage me on both an intellectual and emotional level.


‘The Girl on the Train:’ Wake me up when things get interesting

(11/08/16 5:00am)

Five minutes. That’s how long it took for “The Girl on the Train” to completely bore me. Thirty minutes. That’s about how long it took for me to guess the twist ending for “The Girl on the Train.” Though for the sake of transparency, I should clarify. I had actually guessed the twist within the first few minutes, but at about the 30-minute mark I changed my mind and this second guess turned out to be correct. Incidentally, my initial guess would have made for a far more interesting film. “The Girl on the Train” probably isn’t the worst film I’ve seen all year, but thus far it’s certainly the best example of wasted potential.


The Most Comprehensive Instant Noodle Review

(11/04/16 3:55pm)

With midterms coming up you may find yourself short on time, meaning that treks to FoCo, Collis or even into town for food may become few and far between. Just how will you manage to spend your endless meal swipes (’20s), or your quickly-declining DBA (everybody else) in the most efficient way possible? With the ultimate college solution: instant noodles.


Gavron’s ‘A Woman on the Edge of Time’ tells two stories in one

(11/04/16 4:00am)

Jeremy Gavron’s memoir “A Woman on the Edge of Time” gives the reader deep insight into the inner psyche of both Gavron and his mother. Hannah Gavron committed suicide at 29-years-old despite living a relatively charmed life. Gavron explores the complex ups and downs of her story with startling intensity. As the writer searches for his mother’s motivation in instigating her own death, he also explores the implications that this knowledge has had on his past and will have on his future.


'Southside with You' handles love, politics gracefully

(11/01/16 4:48am)

Making a film about Barack Obama during his presidency is a bold move. Premiering that film only a few short months before the 2016 election ­— well, that’s just downright audacious. Releasing “Southside with You” during the current political climate is bound to stir up strong responses, so all I will say is this: I will try my hardest to keep my personal politics out of this review, but I also acknowledge that there are people who will dislike the mere idea of this film no matter what I say. And that’s fine, because for the rest of us, “Southside with You” has a whole lot to offer.


Hartigan’s ‘Morris from America’ is unapologetic, emotional

(10/25/16 4:00am)

 As Jeru the Damaja’s profanity-laced rap song “Come Clean” began to play over the opening credits of “Morris from America,” I could practically feel every person over 60 in the theater clench up inside. It didn’t take long for the couple behind me to walk out. When that happened, I thought to myself, “I’m going to enjoy this movie.” I can’t help but admire a movie that begins with a bang and weeds out any audience member not interested in meeting it on its own terms.


'Hell or High Water' delivers, but not the expected action film

(10/18/16 4:00am)

 “Hell or High Water” may not be for everyone, but I think that’s honestly for the best. David Mackenzie’s newest film is strange, uncompromising, beautiful, confounding and frankly a breath of fresh air in a year full of films that have failed to live up to expectations. Perhaps this disappointing year was the key to “Hell or High Water”; I had no expectations for it, so I never assumed it would be one of the best films I’ve seen so far in 2016.


Music Review: Solange's "A Seat at the Table"

(10/14/16 4:00am)

“I’m weary of the ways of the world,” Solange sings in her new release “A Seat at the Table.” The album cover, featuring a faded photo of the artist’s face, suggests a dark tone. Indeed, the music in this new release may not be as colorful as the celebrated “Losing You,” but “A Seat at the Table” brings detailed arrangement and articulate, powerful lyricism to the ­— no pun intended — table.








Miller: Censoring Course Reviews

(11/10/14 10:38pm)

The recent faculty vote to open course evaluations ostensibly seems to be a move in the right direction. And in some regards it is — Dartmouth ought to have made course evaluations available to students long ago. The editorial board’s Nov. 7 Verbum Ultimum discussed some of the proposal’s flaws, but it did not highlight some of the most troubling ones. In addition to the “opt-in” clause, which enables faculty members to open course reviews at their discretion, there is also the more troubling ability for faculty members to cherry-pick responses. Faculty members will have a 10-day window to pore over student comments, pull out ones they arbitrarily deem objectionable and submit them to their dean. The professor, then, could decide to censor student comments. Where is the line between truthful negative comments and ones subjectively considered to be inappropriate?






Advertise your student group in The Dartmouth for free!