Search Results


Use the fields below to perform an advanced search of The Dartmouth 's archives. This will return articles, images, and multimedia relevant to your query.




1000 items found for your search. If no results were found please broaden your search.





A Dose of Common Sense

(05/19/23 8:05am)

This week, the College will host its annual Green Key music festival. Concerts will kick off early this afternoon at Phi Delta Alpha fraternity and Collis Center, followed by the Programming Board-sponsored show tonight featuring headliners Neon Trees and Cochise. Festivities will continue throughout the day tomorrow, with live music offerings practically every hour after 11 a.m. This Editorial Board hopes that students will take a well-deserved break from their studies to get outside, enjoy the music and soak up the sunshine with friends. However, we also hope students will keep in mind the potential risks this weekend brings, and we ask that everyone does their best to keep themselves and others safe.


Dunleavy: Subsidizing Fossil Fuels Only Enrichens Big Oil

(05/19/23 8:00am)

Fossil fuel subsidies are incredibly expensive; in 2020 alone, they cost global governments $5.9 trillion. Yet, these subsidies fail to effectively achieve the policy goal of easing the burden of energy costs. Instead, fossil fuel subsidies enrich the fossil fuel industry and waste public money, while harming public health and the environment. With the catastrophic effects of climate change looming, governments must eliminate the fossil fuel subsidies wreaking havoc on both Earth and the taxpayer’s dime.



Letter from the Editors

(05/11/23 5:50pm)

This morning, The Dartmouth published this week’s Verbum Ultimum, an opinion piece written by the editor-in-chief, executive editors, opinion editors and opinion staff columnists. This week’s Verbum Ultimum was intended to be published tomorrow. However, due to an error, it was published at 12 p.m. today and remained on the website for a few minutes until it was taken down to correct this error. We have decided to re-publish the Verbum Ultimum today for full transparency. We did not edit the piece between the time it was taken down and the time it was re-published, and we apologize for the mistake. 


Alsheikh: Recognize the Nakba

(05/11/23 8:05am)

In March, Bezalel Smotrich was granted a diplomatic visa to travel to the United States, drawing outrage and shock from human rights activists across the country. As a key minister in the Israeli government, Smotrich had repeatedly called for the genocide of Palestinians. He had urged Israeli settlers to “wipe out” Palestinian villages in the West Bank, including women and children. Nonetheless, Smotrich was welcomed onto U.S. soil.


Verbum Ultimum: Dig a Little Deeper

(05/11/23 5:50pm)

On April 27, Provost David Kotz sent an email to campus with the JED Foundation's findings and recommendations regarding the state of mental health and well-being at the College. Dartmouth commissioned the report in May 2021 in response to heated student-led calls to re-evaluate college mental health policies after a wave of tragedies on campus. However, despite the College’s promise that this survey is a “comprehensive assessment of our campus mental health and well-being environment,” according to Kotz’s email, the report fails to adequately address concerns regarding the College’s mental health infrastructure and lacks meaningful suggestions for how to improve mental health on campus. 


Colao: Stop Pushing Professors of Color Out

(05/09/23 8:05am)

Throughout and after college, I’ve had to ask a lot of my professors: recommendation letters, thesis supervisions, career advice and article edits. When I was asked to write a tenure evaluation for geography professor Patricia (tish) Lopez, it was a no-brainer — I could finally reciprocate some of that energy by advocating for her. Professor Lopez is one of the College’s most beloved teachers, according to both current students and alumni. Not only that, but she’s exactly the type of professor the Dartmouth administration promises its students. The opportunity to work and learn with her remains one of the reasons I’m grateful to have gone to Dartmouth, despite my complicated feelings about the College. 


Tobeck: Let’s Use Our Power to Impact Hanover

(05/09/23 8:10am)

Last year during the midterm election season, it was quite common to see posts on Instagram supporting various candidates or “I Voted” stickers all around campus. Everyone knows federal elections are important for governing the country. But we may not appreciate that we have an opportunity to influence the issues that are most salient to us as a campus community on a local level. Today at 7 p.m. Hanover residents will come together to debate and vote on the budget, town officers and other important local measures at the annual Hanover town meeting. All Dartmouth students who are able to vote in Hanover are eligible to participate in this meeting. We have the power to help shape the future of our college community — and we should use it.






Chamberlain: Investing in Our Values

(05/04/23 8:05am)

As our town moves towards a more sustainable future, I want to help build a Hanover that works for everyone. We have so much here — great ideas, fantastic people and stunning nature. We can build off of this to improve the health and well-being of more people. I’m running for Hanover Selectboard to improve everyone’s quality of life. My vision is simple – everyone counts. 


Verbum Ultimum: It’s Time to Speak Up

(05/04/23 8:10am)

On April 21, the Office of the Provost informed the campus community that a swastika — a hate symbol representing antisemitism, genocide and Nazi ideology — was discovered drawn in the dirt on the side of the Green. Safety and Security found the swastika just days after the campus community commemorated Yom HaShoah, or Holocaust Remembrance Day, on April 18 with a reading of the names of every child who died in the Holocaust. As an Editorial Board, we stress the severity of antisemitism — both on campus and nationally. Antisemitism is rising at alarming rates, and it is critical that people learn to recognize antisemitism — in all its forms — and condemn it without qualification.



Verbum Ultimum: Every Vote Counts

(04/28/23 8:05am)

On Wednesday, the Elections Planning and Advisory Committee announced the results of the 2023 undergraduate student elections. Besides the hotly contested elections for senior class president and vice president, the majority of races were either uncompetitive or nonexistent. Only two candidates were running on the ballot for three seats on the Class of 2026 class council, and four out of six Housing Communities did not have a full slate of balloted candidates for their respective class senator positions. Zero students ran for the Committee on Standards or Organizational Adjudication Committee seats, leaving these crucial roles in Dartmouth’s student disciplinary process temporarily undecided while the Elections Planning and Advisory Committee evaluates write-in candidates. Even in elections that managed to secure a full slate of candidates without write-in votes, there was only one contested election other than senior class president and vice president. Student indifference towards undergraduate elections hinders Dartmouth Student Government’s ability to represent the student body properly, and students should put in more of an effort to engage with their governing bodies — by voting in elections at a minimum, and by running for positions themselves if they want to effect positive change.


Dixon: A Story of Suppressed Dreams

(04/28/23 8:00am)

In elementary school, I wanted to be a pilot. I spent hours researching different airplanes and drawing them. I’m sure most of us had such dreams — perhaps some wanted to be an astronaut, others hoped to be a doctor and even more imagined being president. While my dream of becoming a pilot turned out to be a phase, I’ll never forget the passion and drive that a dream creates.


Alsheikh: Make Fun With the Town

(04/27/23 8:00am)

It’s well-known that Dartmouth and the Town of Hanover don’t often mix. Many students are too busy worrying about their 10-week term to really care about what goes on in Hanover, and residents of the town are too busy dealing with real-life problems to care much about what goes on at Dartmouth. Where we do interact, it’s rarely positive: issues of New Hampshire voting and election candidates for the state House of Representatives frequently pit college and town against each other, making for an oddly antagonistic relationship.